Wednesday, September 24, 2008

The Five Stages Of Grief

Came across this accidentally while going through a business blog today. Interesting stuff.

The Kübler-Ross model describes, in five discrete stages, a process by which people allegedly deal with grief and tragedy, especially when diagnosed with a terminal illness. The model was introduced by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book "On Death and Dying". The stages are known as the "Five Stages of Grief".

The stages are:

  1. Denial:
    • Example - "I feel fine.""This can't be happening."'Not to me!"
  2. Anger:
    • Example - "Why me? It's not fair!" "NO! NO! How can you accept this!"
  3. Bargaining:
    • Example - "Just let me live to see my children graduate.""I'll do anything, can't you stretch it out? A few more years."
  4. Depression:
    • Example - "I'm so sad, why bother with anything?""I'm going to die . . . What's the point?"
  5. Acceptance:
    • Example - "It's going to be OK.""I can't fight it, I may as well prepare for it."


trash-u said...

hmmm.. i wonder if they are really discrete.. but still insightful model hmm... whts it doin in biz blog :D err.. connecting it with "death and dyin" " 5 stages of grief of companies facing distress. :p

Shekhar said...

anonymous: :) Thanks.

trash-u: The blog was speaking about how fin. people the world over might react to the meltdown.